Liberia News, Liberia Connection, Liberia Map and everything about Liberia in

The only Liberia Portal offering Liberia News, Liberia Gallery, Liberia Forums and more.
Librian Online

  Register Here  /  Login

African Footballer of the Year

Lib Sport Menu
National Team
Liberia Own Sport
Nations Cup Record
Sport History
Sport Associations
Sport Played
World Cup Record
African Soccer Record
Record African Footballer
Nations Cup Champs
External Links
Soccer News
Soccer Discussions
Facts on Religion
Traditinal Religion
Candidates for Pres-2005
Political Party
Political System
Political Situation since Indep.
Election Results 1847-1997
France Football African Footballer of the Year And African Footballer of the Year
African Footballer of the Year:

The African Footballer of the Year, presented to the best African football (soccer) player, has been given out by the Confederation of African Football since 1992. A different African Footballer of the Year award was given out between 1970 and 1994 by France Football magazine.

1970 Salif Keita Mali Saint-Etienne
1971 Ibrahim Sunday Ghana Asante Kotoko
1972 Chérif Souleymane Guinea Hafia Conakry
1973 Tshimimu Bwanga Zaire TP Mazembe
1974 Paul Moukila Congo CARA Brazzaville
1975 Ahmed Faras Morocco SC Chabab Mohammedia
1976 Roger Milla Cameroon Canon Yaoundé
1977 Tarak Dhiab Tunisia Espérance
1978 Abdul Razak Ghana Asante Kotoko
1979 Thomas N'Kono Cameroon Canon Yaoundé
1980 Jean Manga Onguene Cameroon Canon Yaoundé
1981 Lakhdar Belloumi Algeria GCR Mascara
1979 Thomas N'Kono Cameroon Español
1983 Mahmoud Al-Khatib Egypt Al-Ahly
1984 Téophile Abega Cameroon Toulouse FC
1985 Mohammed Timoumi Morocco FAR Rabat
1986 Badou Zaki Morocco RCD Mallorca
1987 Rabah Madjer Algeria FC Porto
1988 Kalusha Bwalya Zambia Cercle Brugge
1989 George Weah Liberia AS Monaco
1990 Roger Milla Cameroon CS Saint Denis
1991 Abédi Pelé Ghana Olympique Marseille
1992 Abédi Pelé Ghana Olympique Marseille
1993 Abédi Pelé Ghana Olympique Marseille
1994 George Weah Liberia Paris Saint-Germain
1992 Abédi Pelé Ghana Olympique Marseille
1993 Rashidi Yekini Nigeria Vitória Setúbal
1994 Emmanuel Amunike Nigeria Sporting Lisbon
1995 George Weah Liberia AC Milan
1996 Nwankwo Kanu Nigeria Internazionale
1997 Victor Ikpeba Nigeria AS Monaco
1998 Mustapha Hadji Morocco Deportivo La Coruña
1999 Nwankwo Kanu Nigeria Arsenal
2000 Patrick Mboma Cameroon Parma
2001 El Hadji Diouf Senegal Lens
2001 El Hadji Diouf Senegal Lens/ Liverpool
2003 Samuel Eto'o Cameroon Real Mallorca
2003 Samuel Eto'o Cameroon Real Mallorca/ Barcelona


Liberia Football Assoc.

Head Coach

Frank J. Nagbe
King George

George Weah
Lone Star 2006

National Team
LFA President

Izzetta Wesley

Copyright © by Liberian Online - Liberia Portal All Right Reserved.

[ Go Back ]

[ About Us ] - [ Disclaimer ] - [ Privacy ] - [ Terms of Service ] - [ Submit News ] - [ Contact Us ]
You can syndicate our news using the file backend.php or ultramode.txt Liberia XML Liberia Yahoo

A Liberia Portal connecting Liberians around the world.

Copyright © 2004-2009 LiberianOnline. All Rights Reserved.